Focus on #WorkLifeBalance at Oracle OpenWorld

I promised my 9 year old son that I would run the school 5K fun run with him, little did I know it would clash with Oracle OpenWorld.  I had a 5k run at 10am in Belmont and then a presentation to the OAUG GL Special Interest Group at 11am 20 mile sNorth in San Francisco.  I was worried about the pace my son could do but we managed to average 9.5 minute miles even with a stop to tie a shoe lace and a lot of traffic of all ages and speeds.  We had just enough time snap the picture below and then he went for the pancake breakfast with the rest of his friends and I ran another half mile to my car and headed to the Moscone Center.  No time to change and straight up on stage, with 10 minutes to spare before I was due to speak.  After that I caught up with a colleague who’s here from the UK over lunch and was home in time to upgrade my son’s home minecraft server to 1.8, write a blog and check on my demos for tomorrow’s Oracle Applications User Experience (OAUX) EXPO.

Dolphin Dash
Only one of us got to stay for the pancake breakfast
OOW14
No time to change, straight on stage and waiting to present.

later this evening I was pleased to see this tweet from Steve Miranda, our EVP who is also balancing his heavy workload at OpenWorld with family commitments too.

Steve makes time for family too.
Steve makes time for family too.

So all in all a good day, here’s hoping the rest of the week is just as enjoyable.

Author: David Haimes

I'm Senior Director in the Oracle Research and Development Organization, with close to 20 years working in various roles on the development of the Financial Management product suite.  Since the summer of 2016 my focus is exclusively on working with customers and longer-term design work, particularly around next-generation functional and technical architecture. My task is to figure out NOW what the financial management system of the next 3, 5 or more years should look like and start working toward it.  At the moment the majority of my time is spent working on Blockchain or Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT), leading the effort for all of SaaS applications.  I'm also interested in AI, Machine Learning and new UX and interaction paradigms such as chat bots. I started out in Oracle UK and found my way out to Oracle's Redwood Shores, California HQ in May 2000.  My previous role was product owner for Fusion Accounting Hub, General Ledger, Intercompany and Legal Entity products in Oracle Fusion Financials and eBusiness Suite General Ledger. I have also worked on EMEA Globalizations, Federal and Public Sector Financials, XML Payments and a variety of projects on other products down the years.

One thought on “Focus on #WorkLifeBalance at Oracle OpenWorld”

  1. Personally I think you did a lot more than drop off your child at school! I’m impressed. Especially as somehow you had to find parking in all of that. I failed miserably on Tuesday and ended up driving back to Daly City and taking BART back in. It was a massive disaster. I’m glad to say though I did make it home in time for our 1st of the Month family movie night. #FamliyFirst

    Like

Leave a comment