Oracle Joins Hyperledger and my Blockchain Session at Oracle OpenWorld

Blockchain ImageAlthough it was announced in an Oracle blog post a few weeks ago, there was an announcement from Hyperledger today which has been picked up by coindesk and a lot of other news outlets.

I have been working on/with Blockchain or Disitributed Ledger Techncology(DLT)* for some time, as have many, many people inside Oracle.  I have also been talking to A LOT of our customers, because when a technology has the possibility to make huge transformations to the way we do business, collaboration is critical.  I love that I am able to not only be part of the conversation on how the technology evolves, but also how enterprises will be able to benefit from it and how it will impact existing applications and business processes in the short, medium and long term.

I will share some of my work in my session at Oracle OpenWorld in a few weeks, so if you are coming to San Francisco for that, hopefully you’ll join me at the below session (register now in case it gets fully booked)

My OOW17 Blockchain Session

There are plenty of other sessions discussing Blockchain, watch this space for a comprehensive list.

 

*The controversy on what is a Blockchain and what is DLT merits a blog post all of its own.

Author: David Haimes

I'm Senior Director in the Oracle Research and Development Organization, with close to 20 years working in various roles on the development of the Financial Management product suite.  Since the summer of 2016 my focus is exclusively on working with customers and longer-term design work, particularly around next-generation functional and technical architecture. My task is to figure out NOW what the financial management system of the next 3, 5 or more years should look like and start working toward it.  At the moment the majority of my time is spent working on Blockchain or Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT), leading the effort for all of SaaS applications.  I'm also interested in AI, Machine Learning and new UX and interaction paradigms such as chat bots. I started out in Oracle UK and found my way out to Oracle's Redwood Shores, California HQ in May 2000.  My previous role was product owner for Fusion Accounting Hub, General Ledger, Intercompany and Legal Entity products in Oracle Fusion Financials and eBusiness Suite General Ledger. I have also worked on EMEA Globalizations, Federal and Public Sector Financials, XML Payments and a variety of projects on other products down the years.

4 thoughts on “Oracle Joins Hyperledger and my Blockchain Session at Oracle OpenWorld”

Leave a comment