Speaking My Own Language for UKOUG Apps 14 Conference

Finally I will be at a conference where my British accent, specifically my North West of England accent will be understood.  This will be my first time presenting at the UK OUG Conference and what better place than Liverpool to do it?  Home of my beloved Everton F.C., hometown of my parents and less than 20 miles from where I grew up (People from Liverpool would call me a woollyback) just outside Wigan.  So I will try to remember to shift from the Californian drawl I have picked up over the last 14 years and into my finest scouse accent.

I’m going to be presenting two papers which will showcase not just the powerful features that can revolutionize how you run your business, but also the amazing use experience, mobile and social features available in our ERP Cloud.  Both are on Monday and one is right after the other, so I’m a little bit apprehensive about having 10 minutes to dash from one room to another, get set up and start again.

Here are the details of the sessions, or just search for ‘Haimes’ and you’ll find them. Add them to your agenda, because they are both ‘must not miss’ sessions.

First up, Monday December 8th, 2pm, Hall 11C

Oracle E-Business Suite Coexistence with Fusion Accounting Hub & Implementing a Global Chart of Accounts.

This is a great session with a lot of content to pack in but I know the area well and am very passionate about it and have seen first hand how big a deal this is for businesses.

Then 10 minutes to pack up and dash to Hall 1B for 3pm

Oracle ERP Cloud Service Social & Mobile Demonstrations.

Doing live demos, with multiple different devices to switch between and using a live cloud environment on a conference WiFi make this a logistical challenge.  However when you have a phenomenal user experience, the best thing to do is show it live, so bear with me because we have some pretty cool features to show.

Author: David Haimes

I'm Senior Director in the Oracle Research and Development Organization, with close to 20 years working in various roles on the development of the Financial Management product suite.  Since the summer of 2016 my focus is exclusively on working with customers and longer-term design work, particularly around next-generation functional and technical architecture. My task is to figure out NOW what the financial management system of the next 3, 5 or more years should look like and start working toward it.  At the moment the majority of my time is spent working on Blockchain or Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT), leading the effort for all of SaaS applications.  I'm also interested in AI, Machine Learning and new UX and interaction paradigms such as chat bots. I started out in Oracle UK and found my way out to Oracle's Redwood Shores, California HQ in May 2000.  My previous role was product owner for Fusion Accounting Hub, General Ledger, Intercompany and Legal Entity products in Oracle Fusion Financials and eBusiness Suite General Ledger. I have also worked on EMEA Globalizations, Federal and Public Sector Financials, XML Payments and a variety of projects on other products down the years.

2 thoughts on “Speaking My Own Language for UKOUG Apps 14 Conference”

Leave a comment