Focus on Oracle Social Network at OpenWorld

This is the first of a series of posts I am planning leading up to Oracle OpenWorld which starts in less than a week.  I have a few different focus areas this year, so I’ll write a little about each of them.

I’ve been talking about collaboration in ERP for quite some time and was also very flattered to have TheAppsLab and Ultan (@ultan) for the UX team cover what we have done in their blogs too.  I call it Socializing the Finance Department, it isn’t about more Pot Luck Lunches and after work drinks, it is about using social tools in a secure and efficient manner, embedded in your ERP system, tied to your transactions and business flows to make you more productive.

The Oracle Social Network(OSN) is part of the infrastructure we build our cloud applications on, so it is pervasive in our cloud apps.  There are a lot of good sessions, see here for the complete OSN list.  I will be on a panel discussing the best use cases for social in enterprise applications, Tuesday September 30th 5pm – 5:45pm  – Moscone West – 3022, full details here.

We won’t be doing a demo, but here is one video to give you a taste of what we will discuss, or check out my post Can chatting make us more productive? for another video.  If you catch during the #oow week, I’m usually happy to show this off, so feel free to ask me.

Author: David Haimes

I'm Senior Director in the Oracle Research and Development Organization, with close to 20 years working in various roles on the development of the Financial Management product suite.  Since the summer of 2016 my focus is exclusively on working with customers and longer-term design work, particularly around next-generation functional and technical architecture. My task is to figure out NOW what the financial management system of the next 3, 5 or more years should look like and start working toward it.  At the moment the majority of my time is spent working on Blockchain or Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT), leading the effort for all of SaaS applications.  I'm also interested in AI, Machine Learning and new UX and interaction paradigms such as chat bots. I started out in Oracle UK and found my way out to Oracle's Redwood Shores, California HQ in May 2000.  My previous role was product owner for Fusion Accounting Hub, General Ledger, Intercompany and Legal Entity products in Oracle Fusion Financials and eBusiness Suite General Ledger. I have also worked on EMEA Globalizations, Federal and Public Sector Financials, XML Payments and a variety of projects on other products down the years.

One thought on “Focus on Oracle Social Network at OpenWorld”

Leave a comment