Observations from my 15 Years at Oracle

Office pictureLast weekend I completed 15 years at Oracle, all of those years have been spent in Applications Product Development, specifically financials.  That may sound like a long time to do the same thing, but I have been through a lot if big shifts in the IT industry and within Oracle during that time, it’s always been a challenging time and the only constant is change.

I started out in the UK for 2 years before moving out to California in 2000 where I have been ever since, in the 300 building you see on the left.

The earliest Applications release I started out working on was 10.4 and I think the database version was 7.  I still have a promotional VHS cassette that all employees were sent when the 8i database was launched and a license plate holder with the tag line ‘the internet changes everything’ which I got on my first day starting at Oracle HQ.  I also have more Polo Shirts, hats, bags and vests with the Oracle Logo on than I care to count.

As I said earlier the only constant has been change and I’ve seen a lot of interesting changes, shifts and fads come and go.  Here’s a list of the things I can recall in a somewhat chronological order

  • Character mode Apps
  • Client Server GUI Apps
  • Browser based Apps
  • The Millennium Bug
  • Providing 24 hour cover over New Year 2000, when nothing happened
  • The emergence of the internet
  • The dot com boom
  • The dot com bust
  • The Network Computer (including Larry showing a network computer on Oprah)
  • Oracle starting consolidation in the Enterprise Applications space
  • Web 2.0
  • Social Apps
  • The Cloud

So there’s a few of my favorite things, feel free to add yours or comment on mine in the comments section below.

Author: David Haimes

I'm Senior Director in the Oracle Research and Development Organization, with close to 20 years working in various roles on the development of the Financial Management product suite.  Since the summer of 2016 my focus is exclusively on working with customers and longer-term design work, particularly around next-generation functional and technical architecture. My task is to figure out NOW what the financial management system of the next 3, 5 or more years should look like and start working toward it.  At the moment the majority of my time is spent working on Blockchain or Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT), leading the effort for all of SaaS applications.  I'm also interested in AI, Machine Learning and new UX and interaction paradigms such as chat bots. I started out in Oracle UK and found my way out to Oracle's Redwood Shores, California HQ in May 2000.  My previous role was product owner for Fusion Accounting Hub, General Ledger, Intercompany and Legal Entity products in Oracle Fusion Financials and eBusiness Suite General Ledger. I have also worked on EMEA Globalizations, Federal and Public Sector Financials, XML Payments and a variety of projects on other products down the years.

5 thoughts on “Observations from my 15 Years at Oracle”

  1. Congrats on 15 yrs at Oracle-it is a long time, but when you are able to work on so many different areas it feels like a new job every do often!

    Like

Leave a Reply

