My name is David and I used to be a blogger

So many bloggers are blogging less and spending more time pushing out 140 character packets of info on Twitter. I have no problem with Twitter, I blogged about it and hang out there now and then, but for me it is no replacement for blogging. My lack activity here has nothing to do with Twitter as it is for Justin from Oracle tech net (for the record, I think Justin tweets plenty of really good info), my silence is due to two factors.

1. Lack of time – busy job at Oracle, arrival of our 3rd and 4th children, spending summer in Europe, moving house…
2. I can’t discuss my day job – I have the pleasure of managing a development team building truly amazing and ground breaking Fusion products. Downside is we can’t talk much about it yet as it isn’t released.

Regarding the second point, I should still blog about R12, all the reasons I started this blog are still valid, but I find it increasingly hard to switch gears from Fusion to R12 (maybe something to do with age?).

As for lack of time this will always be a problem.  I have tried to respond to comments and keep up reading some of the other great oracle blogs, but only now whilst starting out on a 22 hour flight to India do I feel I have a little time to think about blogging… So when I next get connected I can hit publish and I am a blogger again.

Author: David Haimes

I'm Senior Director in the Oracle Research and Development Organization, with close to 20 years working in various roles on the development of the Financial Management product suite.  Since the summer of 2016 my focus is exclusively on working with customers and longer-term design work, particularly around next-generation functional and technical architecture. My task is to figure out NOW what the financial management system of the next 3, 5 or more years should look like and start working toward it.  At the moment the majority of my time is spent working on Blockchain or Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT), leading the effort for all of SaaS applications.  I'm also interested in AI, Machine Learning and new UX and interaction paradigms such as chat bots. I started out in Oracle UK and found my way out to Oracle's Redwood Shores, California HQ in May 2000.  My previous role was product owner for Fusion Accounting Hub, General Ledger, Intercompany and Legal Entity products in Oracle Fusion Financials and eBusiness Suite General Ledger. I have also worked on EMEA Globalizations, Federal and Public Sector Financials, XML Payments and a variety of projects on other products down the years.

4 thoughts on “My name is David and I used to be a blogger”

  1. yay! for long boring trips on airplanes.. oh… wait. Anyway good to *see* you blogging again David. It was like a google reader treat, even if I didn’t get to it for a month myself. I did not move house or have twins. I did go to Orlando which is kind of similar.

    Like

    1. Meg – thanks for the encouragement. It was not you that took a month to get to it, it was me that took almost a month after my trip to remember to publish it… as I say I have been pretty busy!

      Like

  2. We always look forward to your insight and blog posts.
    Someone suggested me that twitter posts can be displayed on blogs – that way readers don’t miss out on the latest happenings going through your mind :-D

    Like

    1. my Twitter activity is transient and less worthy of people’s attention, I feel my thoughts are better grouped together pushed around a little and put into a blog post, at that point they have more value.

      Like

Leave a Reply

