Report from Collaborate 14, Las Vegas

David in a Suit

Talking Fusion Accounting Hub in a suit

Last month I attended and presented at Collaborate, the largest Oracle conference outside of Open World and one where the agenda is determined by the user community.

I was well organized this year; before I attended the conference I had downloaded the mobile App and started creating a conference agenda, I was a little bit disappointed that I had to manually add sessions I was presenting to my agenda, seems like a missing feature and it did not create the best first impression.  However, I then found the mobile app really good, a lot of discussions, the ability to comment on sessions and all the good social features you would expect.  When the conference got started the gamification they had added (a simple leader board of activity) helped to drive adoption and also caused some controversy, I’ll stay out of that but I would recommend reading Debra Lilley’s thoughts on it.

Throughout the week many people were talking about how several sessions they wanted to attend seemed to be scheduled at the same time. My first thought about this was that they were just making a polite excuse for not attending some of my sessions, but then I did observe the same thing myself.  It is hard having to choose between two or often three very interesting and useful sessions which are on at the same time, it is also tough when attendance at some sessions is lower than they deserve.  However, as I thought more about it, I feel it should be seen as a positive that the quality of the sessions and the presenters was very high.

My session on Fusion Accounting Hub and GLobal Charts of Accounts and Consolidation was on Monday and I had a decent crowd, got through a lot of material and had some really good questions (and I hope the answers were good).  I mentioned on my blog that FAH was the talk of the town based on the number of sessions that were covering it, I certainly spent  lots of time discussing it with people over the course of the conference.  We had a good GL SIG group meeting, I did a few minutes about the management segment and Data Access Sets in EBusiness Suite GL Release 12.  I was surprised that more people were not aware of this very useful feature, maybe I should blog about it (he says, adding it to a long to do list).  My third session was co-presented with Sangeeta Sameer from GE, I have asked Sangeeta to write a guest blog post introducing it, sharing the paper and announcing a webinar repeat of it – watch this space.

Exciting that all the things were, probably the part I enjoyed most was talking to so many people who had implemented or were implementing Cloud ERP Apps.  I had a chance to hear the positive comments and excitement that customers and partners had, but equally chat about where the y had suggestions for improvements.  We have a lot of very experienced, motivated and very smart partners out there and I enjoy every minute talking with them and learning from them, hopefully helping them out with a few tips too.

So next up for me is Open World, I did not make KScope this year, but one day I would like to go there, but for my particular field Collaborate is a must conference and if you have never been I would highly recommend you consider it next year, I will certainly be submitting a paper.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,682 other followers

