My What, Where and When of Oracle OpenWorld

If you are attending Oracle OpenWorld for the first time, the best advice I can give is to get your WWW sorted out ahead of time;  if you don’t know what you want to hear, see, learn and experience and when and where it is you will waste valuable time trying to figure that out during the conference and the whole thing will pass you by.  Certainly it is worth having a few backup plans and leaving some open times in your Calendar, trust me you will fill those open slots catching up with friends, visiting the Demo Grounds and exhibition halls and of course catching up with all the email and calls from your day job that won’t stop because you are at a conference.

This year I am presenting, working on the demo grounds and meeting up with customers/partners and I hope catching up with a lot of people I don’t get to see in person very often and maybe having a drink or two with them.

If you’re reading this blog you may be interested in some of the same things I am interested in and might even want to come and see me so without further ado, here is my What, Where and When

Sunday September 31

For me this is OUAG day, a lot of Special Interest Group meetings so I will be around in Moscone West all day.

2.00PM in 3008 in Moscone West * Session ID * SIG10511 – Oracle Applications User Group (OAUG) GL Special Interest Group Meeting

I will be presenting about Oracle’s own implementation of Fusion Accounting Hub, which they have been live on since June.  More details of the subject here.  I think it is a very compelling story and am excited to share it and answer any questions on it.

I will likely go home and watch the live stream of Larry’s keynote from there with my kids (that means we might be in the same room, but not all actually watching – 7, 5 and 2×3 year olds are not so interested in the future of Enterprise computing).

Monday

9:45 – 2:15 Demo grounds – Applications Demo Grounds in Moscone West – ‘Oracle Fusion Financials Offers Revolutionary Reporting and Insight’

Working on Demo Pods is hard work, very hard.  Always busy, wide variety of people and questions and conversations.  A great place to come and interact with people and ask your specific questions and see exactly what you are interested in.

3:15 PM – 4:15 Oracle Fusion Financials: Overview, Strategy, Customer Experiences, and Roadmap in Moscone West – 2003 (presented by my bosses)

I’ve been working on some interesting stuff recently and you should get to see some of that in the demo section of this session, might be some mobile content and something social as well as the revolutionary reporting and insight.  I will not be on stage, I’ll be at the front somewhere but have a small role in the demo playing an accountant called Ted Brown.

4:45 PM – 5:45 PM Oracle Fusion Accounting Hub, Coexisting with Your Current Financials Systems in Moscone West – 2003

Tuesday

10:15 – 11:15 Oracle Fusion Accounting Hub Case Study: Global Deployment at Oracle (CON8846 ) in Moscone West – 2005

Similar to my session on Sunday but done better.  The Oracle Finance Department and the Oracle IT team discuss how they implemented a Global Chart of Accounts and migrated to Fusion Accounting Hub and the business benefits they gained.  They will present this much better than I can because they drove the project and will tell it how it is, I cannot recommend this session highly enough.

1:15 PM – 2:15 PM Oracle Fusion Financials: Customer Adoption and Experiences Moscone West – 2003

Hear about customer implementations and how they have benefited from Fusion.

5:00 PM – 6:00 PM How to Score an Eagle on a Par 5: PGA Migrates to Oracle Fusion Applications Moscone West – 2003

I had the pleasure of visiting this customer a couple of times, although I was so busy talking about Fusion with them I didn’t get a chance to play golf.  A great set of people and a great story about how to get the best out of Fusion Applications and the embedded BI.

6pm – 7:30pm BizTech sponsored OAUG event, it will involve a set of presenters who wowed crowds at the OAUG Collaborate event this year, I’m going to chat for a few minutes about Fusion Financials and how it can Coexist with your R12 EBS or other financials systems.

6pm onwards – Frontera Consulting reception – Hoping I can meet some of the people I have worked with on a Fusion Early Adopter Customer;  Frontera were the implementation partner on one of the first Financials Customers to go live.  Yes, this clashes with the above event, I will figure that out somehow.

Wednesday

9:45 – 2:15 Demo grounds – Applications Demo Grounds in Moscone West – ‘Oracle Fusion Financials Offers Revolutionary Reporting and Insight’

As above hard work, but if you have questions it’s a good place to find me or my colleagues from product development.

Blogger Meetup – If you blog about Oracle, come and meet kindred spirits.  Sign up here.

Here are some other sessions of Interest, that I might not be able to make but if I could, I would.

Monday 12:15 PM – 1:15
PM Infosys Enables Better Finance Decisions at Al Shirawi, Using Oracle Fusion Accounting Hub Moscone West – 2012 -

If I can get away from my demo pod for a few minutes I’d be interested in this presentation.  I talked to this customer once during their implementation, but mostly things went really smoothly and the Infosys team handled the implementation very well.

11:45 AM – 12:45 PM Oracle Fusion Applications: Cloud Applications and Services Overview Moscone West – 2001

Cloud, expect a lot of talk about cloud all week, in a lot of sessions.

CON9432 4:45 Monday Oracle Fusion Accounting Hub, Coexisting with Your Current Financials Systems

CON9445 Wednesday 1:15 Information Excess Versus Information Access

I should be getting a preview of this session later this week, understand the real power and value of Fusion Financials

2 Responses

  1. [...] felt like my busiest OpenWorld ever, but one of my most enjoyable.  I’ve already blogged my What, Where and When and I pretty much did all I planned to do.  I spent a lot of time at the Demo Booth for Fusion [...]

    Like

  2. Good post. Really usefull.oracleconnections

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,577 other followers

